I don’t understand.

Don’t understand what, you ask?

Why Rick Perry would be upset at Ted Cruz being the front-runner among potential Republican candidates in 2016. With the way Perry was savaged in the 2012 election by the other (alleged) Republican candidates, and with his record in Texas, I would think he’d be quite happy for Cruz even if he was disappointed that his own campaign faltered. If Perry and Cruz aren’t ideological twins — birds of a feather, if you will — I think they’re pretty close. I can’t imagine Perry being anything other than an enthusiastic Cruz supporter in the long run. We will see, I suppose…

Tags:

4 Responses to “I don’t understand.”

  1. Dean Weingarten Says:

    Because Perry would rather be in Cruz’ place.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Sure, I get that in the short term, even if I do have a hard time believing Perry would ever cast Cruz as anything but a real conservative. But the only way I could ever see Perry actively dissing Cruz is if the latter’s position were too libertarian on certain issues.

  2. AeroDillo Says:

    I like Perry lately, but that hasn’t always been the case – his ‘no heart’ comments about free education for the children of illegals, his plans for the Trans-Texas Corridor and attendant threat of eminent domain, and the middle-school vaccination for girls (the name of which escapes me at the moment).

    I’d like to buy Perry as a dyed-in-the-wool conservative/libertarian. As it stands, I regard him with cautious optimism.

    Bearing in mind that the linked article is pretty much 100% conjecture I would put too much stock in it just yet. That said, IF the material there turns out close to true it’s my suspicion that Perry would dislike Cruz for the simple fact that Cruz isn’t skating on assumed credit – he’s earning it. And that is, unfortunately, something that’s not always been the case with our intrepid governor.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      his ‘no heart’ comments about free education for the children of illegals, his plans for the Trans-Texas Corridor and attendant threat of eminent domain, and the middle-school vaccination for girls (the name of which escapes me at the moment).

      Yep, and I think all this is ultimately going to come back to haunt him. To what extent I don’t know, but we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

