Hey, you learn something new every day!

So, I was listening to Sirius Saturday as I was lounging around the house, and Willie’s Roadhouse said Ernest Tubb was coming up, with a song titled “Thoughts of a Fool.” I thought, Huh, I wonder if that’s the same song George Strait did on the Pure Country soundtrack 20 years ago:

And sure enough, it was.

I thought it was really good, but I’ve always been a huge fan of Ernest Tubb. I’m sure a lot of people would say that Strait was a much better singer than Tubb, and on a technical level that may be true — but as for me I think they’re both great, just in different ways. ET might not have had the expressive, weepy voice of a Jones or Haggard, but he always did a great job of making what he had work for him.

(I would have blogged earlier, but I woke up this morning with a crushing headache, with accompanying weakness & nausea. Stayed in bed till noon, then went out for a bite to eat, laid down about 2:30 and didn’t get up till almost 5:30. (Thank you for letting me nap, honey!) And then it was time to do laundry, eat supper, and all that good stuff. I do feel much better now, though.)

Tags:

One Response to “Hey, you learn something new every day!”

  1. kadja1 Says:

    Tubb influenced a lot of rock musicians also. A lot of them listen to the classic country. Rockabilly was born from that. I’m not sure where some of today’s country music comes from, though…Still trying to figure it out…Heard one covering Green Day a little while ago. Honestly, Green Day did a better job on the song “The Time of Your Life”…

Leave a Reply

