Well, that’s just it, isn’t it?

Keith Urban:

At its most primal level, I’m a country, rock, folk, pop guy. Those four things are somewhere in everything I do in varying degrees, and this record is that presentation captured on one album.

Curiously enough, Urban doesn’t market his music as rock, pop, or even folk. You take that with his oddly vehement defenses of other influences in country and you have to wonder why he even bothers with country, other than it being probably the most lucrative place for him to be.

(Is that cynical of me? Sure, and I’ll admit it. But modern country pretty much yanked me in that direction over the last few years.)

Given that, I found this to be quite odd…

everyone sticks to the same blueprint and the same sound and the same slickness and the same songs about tailgates and pickup trucks….You don’t have to follow the same musical landscape when half the people who own country records also own heavy rock records and rap records.

…as it seems to me that Butch Walker is implying that Keith Urban is part of the solution to what ails country music, when he’s actually just a different part of the problem.

(h/t Country California)

Tags:

One Response to “Well, that’s just it, isn’t it?”

  1. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    I don’t think he’s so much as claiming Urban is the solution as justifying the shitty music he puts out.

    Also, and I know we have this argument like clockwork, this part here gets me: You don’t have to follow the same musical landscape when half the people who own country records also own heavy rock records and rap records. Aren’t you the one who’s always saying “No, really, I have eclectic tastes! Look at my eleventy-billion Queensryche posts!”? Commercial country music sounds like crap today because they’re trying to appeal to folks like you, with those eclectic tastes.

    We both know that I like more than just country music too, but I put my money on country music. You’ve bought almost nothing but shitty heavy metal for well over a year now (you’ve bought a whopping two country music albums, only one of them new). The music business is a business, and they are going to dick around with the sound to try to appeal to those people who are spending their money on “heavy rock” instead of country. So you buying shit music supports them thinking they should make shit music; meanwhile my money is encouraging Corb Lund and Jason Boland to keep on recording traditional-sounding stuff.

Leave a Reply

