Oh, this is funny.

What’s so funny about this, you ask? Well…

 YOLO prediction: The Texas hurricane season is over

Tuesday, September 24, 2013

Note the date. 8 years to the day Hurricane Rita rolled ashore between Sabine Pass and Johnson’s Bayou, Louisiana. Dude better watch out or he might jinx it like I did a couple of years ago, when I talked about how good it’d be not to have to worry about hurricanes right before Tropical Storm Hermine rolled through here and dumped about seven inches of rain.

And man, did this bring back memories. We didn’t have it quite that bad — as opposed to the 19-hour drive from Galveston to Dallas, it only took me about 6 1/2 hours or so to get from Port Arthur to Sulphur Springs, which is normally about a four-hour drive and roughly the same distance as it is from Galveston to Dallas. (A good deal of our traffic congestion in the Golden Triangle was due to Houston residents evacuating.) Fun times, for sure.

In all seriousness, though, I tried to make the most of it. I stayed with my grandmother and uncle and went to see friends in Texarkana. To this day I refer to it as my “hurricane vacation,” although if I never had to take another one that would be just fine with me. 😉

Tags:

One Response to “Oh, this is funny.”

  1. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    Just make sure I’m not knocked up for the next tropical storm over SA and we’re good.

Leave a Reply

