Lunch review: Blanco BBQ

So, as we’d drive up and down Blanco Road every so often we’d see this little joint north of Wurzbach Parkway called Blanco BBQ. I don’t remember when we first noticed, but it just opened in July. We decided to check it out last week and it was really good. Sabra had a three-meat plate with ham, brisket, and and a pork rib and I had a brisket sandwich. I’ll admit my brisket sandwich was a bit dry, but the meat was nice and tender and had a really good flavor to it. We both agreed it was worth a return trip.

We took that trip yesterday. And this happened.

marbledbrisketsammie

pulledporksammie

From the top, that’s a marbled brisket po-boy for me and a pulled pork po-boy for Sabra. (Sabra asked for the chopped beef po-boy but my dumb arse got her the pulled pork instead.) I found out today that they actually give you a choice between marbled brisket and lean brisket, and let me tell you, the marbling makes all the difference in the world. I knew this, of course, but for some strange reason I never thought about lean brisket being dry. I got the marbled stuff this time, and it was even better. The ham last week was pretty tasty as well, judging from what I sampled from Sabra’s plate.

Don’t know how the sausage and ribs are, as I haven’t tried them, but so far I definitely recommend it. Wednesday’s my birthday and we’ll be going back then. 😉

(For you locals, it’s at 13259 Blanco Road, just north of Wurzbach Parkway on the southbound side.)

Tags:

3 Responses to “Lunch review: Blanco BBQ”

  1. Dwight Brown Says:

    Oh, my. Do want.

    (And happy birthday to you, while I am thinking about it.)

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Thank you!

    I don’t know if it’s as good as I’ve heard the Salt Lick is, but it’s pretty good.

  3. Dwight Brown Says:

    You know, I’d still like to do a meetup with barbecue one of these days….

Leave a Reply

