In-N-Out in San Antonio?

Maybe

It appears In-N-Out Burger finally has selected the site for its first restaurant in San Antonio.

While T.G.I. Friday’s currently sits at the corner of Loop 410 and McCullough Avenue, a shell corporation tied to In-N-Out purchased the site across from North Star Mall less than three months ago.

You might be thinking, “Whee, another California burger joint.” I was a bit cynical myself too, as I remember people making a big deal out of Carl’s Jr. here and there and being a bit underwhelmed when we finally went. Not that it was bad, just overrated. As far as In-N-Out goes, though, I remember right after they opened in Dallas reading a story about California transplants crying with happiness at the news and thinking, “It may be good, but surely it can’t be THAT good…”

I’d definitely be willing to try it, though — especially for the animal-style fries.

Tags:

8 Responses to “In-N-Out in San Antonio?”

  1. Crotalus Says:

    Believe this old Californio. In-n-out is that good!

  2. GomeznSA Says:

    Crotalus – they’re good – but not THAT good 😉 gimme a Whataburger any day – now if they ended up expanding to kaly it would ALMOST make a trip to Knott’s Berry Farm worthwhile…

    • Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

      I don’t think any sane person thinks they’re on Whataburger level. 😀

      Honestly, I hate that location though. It’s bad enough trying to get past with the folks headed to Chik-Fil-A stopped out in the damn street; In-N-Out will make the traffic that much more of a nightmare.

      • southtexaspistolero Says:

        Funny you mentioned the problems with the location, Sabra. I seem to remember a couple of the commenters in the SAEN piece making the very same observation….

  3. Dwight Brown Says:

    We just got our In-N-Out stores here in Austin. I haven’t been to the local ones yet, but I’ve had In-N-Out in Vegas.

    It is a good burger. But you know something? So’s Five Guys (though I don’t care much for their fries). So’s Mighty Fine Burgers (do you have those in San Antonio?). I’m with Gomez – Whataburger is pretty good, too.

    I remember seeing this when Krispy Kreme came to Austin as well. They’re burgers (or doughnuts). It’s just a chain burger place; it isn’t the second coming of Christ, though people want to treat it that way.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Never had Mighty Fine Burgers, Dwight, but we have been to Five Guys a few times. I thought it was pretty good. Whataburger’s still the king of the fast-food burger chains though, IMO.

      I didn’t think the arrival of Krispy Kreme was the equivalent of the Second Coming, but I ate enough of those doughnuts to fill the store when I was in the Golden Triangle. They were pretty good, and even better when they came right out of the oven…

  4. 3boxesofbs Says:

    I wasn’t that impressed on my only visit so far. Good burger don’t get me wrong but the wait time and definitely the cost (good GRIEF !!) was too much.

    I’ll try again just to be fair.

  5. That Guy Says:

    In-N-Out is about on a level with 5 Guys and Mighty fine, but beats the pants off them in cost. 5 Guys is a $13 burger fried and drink. In-n-Out is $7.

Leave a Reply

