Sunday morning tech musings, 9.3.14

First up, via Facebook, an authoritarian control freak proposes — wait for it! — banning yet more stuff:

As a pediatric occupational therapist, I’m calling on parents, teachers and governments to ban the use of all handheld devices for children under the age of 12 years.

Governments! You know what this means, right? It means Cris Rowan ultimately thinks your letting your kid play with your mp3 player, tablet or cell phone is ultimately worth sending a SWAT team to your house to shoot you over, because that’s what law enforcement ultimately boils down to. I mean, really?

Speaking of enforcement, how exactly is this law going to be enforced?Random spot checks? And by whom? Law enforcement? God forbid, Child Protective Services? Both? Uh, no. Just no. Pardon my french, but Cris Rowan can just butt the fuck out. The issues with random checks by law enforcement ought to be obvious by now, and CPS already has more than enough power with little to no accountability. If parents and teachers want to keep kids from using electronics then that’s their prerogative, but dragging the government into it is beyond the pale.

===

Insert the “it sucks so bad they’re giving it away” joke here.

Yes, I know. It’s just an update to Windows 8 as opposed to a whole new operating system, but as the Apple fanboy I still have to laugh. Yes, I know you can go back to the old interface sans the Start button by going into Desktop mode, but such seems to be beside the point, considering this move. And low- to no-cost versions of Windows Phone? I mean, I know Microsoft is starting way behind here, but it’ll be interesting to see how they balance that low to no cost with quality.

Ah, well. At least they aren’t trying to advertise Windows 8 launch parties….

Tags:

4 Responses to “Sunday morning tech musings, 9.3.14”

  1. 3boxesofbs Says:

    As a pediatric occupational therapist, I am smarter then you and know what your kids need better than you do. Therefore just bow before my intellect and don’t think

    Wonder if we could get FB to ban authoritative dill weeds.

  2. Dwight Brown Says:

    “… as the Apple fanboy I still have to laugh”

    As the other Apple fanboy I can’t really laugh. My exposure to Windows 8 is somewhat limited, and I’m trying to avoid per-judgement. I don’t know if Win8 is good, bad, or indifferent.

    What I do think is that we’re seeing a race to the bottom: LINUX/Android//Chrome and, to some extent, MacOS have all devalued the operating system. What Microsoft used to be able to sell for $50 per PC is now $15 per PC, and likely to go down from there; and they’re selling a lot fewer of those PCs, too,

    I never thought I’d say this, but: I’m kind of worried about the future of Microsoft.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Yeah, Dwight, Apple really put themselves way out front with the iOS devices. Aren’t those (well, the iPad more than the other two) what have mainly been eating into PC sales? Perhaps less so with Macs than with PCs because of the way Apple markets all their devices as working together, but I’m sure Apple probably doesn’t sell as many Macs — although the base-model MacBook Air is priced pretty close the 128GB iPad.

      My issue with Windows 8, strangely enough, is mostly the same issue I have with iOS 7 — the aesthetics. It’s just ugly. I know what Microsoft was going for, but I would think Apple kept iOS and OS X separate for good reasons. I wouldn’t be terribly surprised if the main driver of the development of Windows 8 was Steve Ballmer’s arrogance. I’m sure he thought that’d pull MS out of its rut just like he thought the iPhone would never gain any significant share of the smartphone market.

Leave a Reply

