More Texas musings.

This was a really great list, but they should have called it “101 Reasons Never To Leave Texas.”

After all, just look at the list of food-related items alone. For Taco Cabana and Whataburger all by themselves I’d never want to leave. Honey butter chicken biscuit, NOM NOM NOM.

(Had a couple of those this morning, by the way. And you know another reason Whataburger is great? They couldn’t get to me right away this morning…so they gave me coffee, free. Can’t beat that.)

And then, of course, there’s the greatness of HEB. There are a lot of great things about that store, one of which is there incredible variety of coffees — and not just at Central Market. They even have them in a lot of the regular stores. Of course, HEB is not everywhere in Texas, which brings me to my next point.

As I’ve probably noted before, I grew up in the northeast corner of Texas, and it didn’t really strike me as particularly…Texan. It was so far from, well, everything. From my early teenage years on, I longed to get out of there to see more of Texas and the great things that made it what it was. I can’t even tell you how happy I was to do just that, and once I left, I had no desire to ever go back. I am really quite thankful I live where I do now. I tell Sabra all the time that I am so glad she did not live in, say, Lufkin. 😉

(That part of Texas is pretty, with all the pine trees and whatnot…)

Tags:

Leave a Reply

