Not-so-random hits, 16.12.13

Yes, I am still here! Been working 45-50 hours a week for the last couple of weeks, with just iPad and smartphone access, but I hope to be back to a more frequent blogging schedule soon. In the meantime…

===

Man alive, the butthurt from the Cody Johnson fanboys here is something to behold. From what I’d heard of him I didn’t think he was that bad, just overrated. But if that review is to be believed…damn.

Don’t quite understand the hate for Josh Abbott and Casey Donahew, though. I know the concept of the “gateway drug” has been made a mockery of in recent years with the promotion of Taylor Swift and the like as such, but I think folks like Abbott do make a good gateway drug of sorts to Texas music, especially with songs like “I’ll Sing About Mine.”

===

Speaking of the latter song, I picked up Adam Hood’s The Shape of Things a few weeks back, as his version of that song is my favorite. The whole thing is great, though. “Flame and Gasoline” has always been a favorite, and “Hard Times in the Land of Plenty,” “New Deep Ellum Blues,” and “Once They’re Gone” are some real gems, too. Need to get his new album soon…

Tags:

Leave a Reply

