Wednesday music musings, 25.3.15

Well, this is depressing:

It’s not often that radio stations do something distinctive enough to get other radio people talking, but at least two reached out to me within a few minutes of each other on Monday and all it took was the addition of a few pop titles to two different country stations. For country KSCS Dallas, it was playing Ed Sheeran’s “Don’t” and “Thinking Out Loud’ as well as Rihanna, Kanye West and Paul McCartney’s “FourFive Seconds.”

Man, talk about a radio station going to shit. I remember when those guys were playing Pat Green and Merle Haggard at 4:30 in the afternoon, and obscure George Strait album cuts here and there. I mean, I thought that whole 100.3 the Bull thing in Houston was a crock of shit, but this just blows that right out of the water. All the great new music they could be playing from the likes of Sturgill Simpson and Aaron Watson, and this is what they play? Ugh. I got nothin’.

===

Speaking of Aaron Watson and his new album, there was this a little while back at Saving Country Music:

You said you receive no mainstream radio play, and a few days ago the CEO of Sony Music Nashville was quoted saying, “If you’re not on country radio, you don’t exist.” As someone on the outside looking in to radio play, what do you think about that statement, especially sitting on the perch of your #1 album?

I think that’s A: It’s a very inaccurate statement. And B: I think Gary Overton is saying that because this week is the big CRS week in Nashville, so maybe he was saying that because every country radio show has shown up in Nashville this week. But I would also say, “My name is Aaron Watson. I’m not played on country radio. And I have the #1 record in country music this week. I do exist. And I also run a multi-million dollar business that employs up to 20 people.” And I would also say that for a little family in Abilene, TX, they think their daddy is the best country singer since Hank Williams. So I do exist. I just think that’s a very narrow-minded way of looking at things.

It really is. There’s a whole world of music out there that isn’t played on country radio, and people do buy it — as evidenced by, among other things, The Underdog hitting No. 1 on the charts and Sturgill Simpson’s Metamodern Sounds in Country Music selling 100,000 copies, both without the benefit of country radio airplay.

===

We went and bought that AW album not long after it came out, by the way, and even with its more mainstream sensibilities it’s still very, very good. Some of it does lean more towards the bro-country side (see: “Getaway Truck”), and there’s what sounds like a drum machine on “Rodeo Queen” along with some rather annoying high notes, but those moments are more than redeemed with “The Prayer,” “Fence Post,” Freight Train,” and “Bluebonnets (Julia’s Song).”

That last song…that last song just tears me all to pieces.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

