Wednesday music musings, 20.5.15

With apologies to Natalie Maines, I am ashamed that Haley Georgia is from Texas.

In all seriousness, as I am wont to do anymore, I listened to that song just to, y’know, give it a fair shake. Just to see if it’s as bad as it sounds…

…yeah. That’s three minutes of my life that I’ll never get back. The whole thing can perhaps best be described as pasty white suburban girl affecting a valley girl accent as she raps over a drum machine and a token banjo, but even that doesn’t fully convey just how pathetic it is. I went and listened to George Strait covering Webb Pierce’s “There Stands the Glass” to heal my poor ears. Haley Georgia said in Billboard that genres weren’t really a thing for her generation. Which is all fine and good, but then why even bother categorizing this as “country”? I mean, you can’t have it both ways. Or at least you shouldn’t be able to.

As for country music needing a Ke$ha…in a way you could call that astoundingly ignorant, because if what I’ve read is right, the real Ke$ha has at least some modicum of respect for country music and ostensibly would never take such a steaming shit on it as Haley Georgia has with this…this…thing.

Now, I could be wrong. I mean, once upon a time (some years ago) I thought Bret Michaels might have at least a good country song in him — yes, I know, how naive of me — but my reaction upon hearing “Girls On Bars” was pretty similar to Trigger’s. But there’s got to be a bottom to this hole somewhere. At this point I shudder to think of where it might be, though.

===

Oh, Clay Walker

I don’t think the fan base has changed at all. When I was growing up in the late ’80s and early ’90s everyone loved hip-hop. That’s not new. There’s no secret there. But I do blame our format a little bit for feeling like we needed to add that element to our format….I can’t stand to see outdated rock-and-rollers coming in to play country music. That really pissed me off…We have great singers, great country musicians. There’s no reason we have to dilute it by letting people in the format that don’t have any business being in the format.

Huh. NOW he has a problem? Wasn’t that long ago that Clay Walker was singing an entirely different tune:

I think it’s the perfect evolution and it’s the way it should be. It’s time. It’s time for that change. And, albeit rough at the moment, it’s a beautiful rough.

Now, the title of that Taste of Country interview just might hold the key to his change of tune: “Man With a View: Clay Walker on Why He’s in a Great Place to Have a Big Year in 2014.”

Big year, eh? The cynic in me says he’s just bitter because that “big year” he was supposed to have fizzled like a firecracker in the rain, partly because of that evolution in the genre that he was touting. Most of it was probably because of him being 45 years old, but Walker was a B-lister at best even back in his heyday. I don’t know what he thought he was going to do to get himself back to the top of the heap, but I can only hope that it wasn’t as embarrassing as Tracy Lawrence’s last gasp at relevance. Whatever the case may be, I find it a little off-putting that he’s changed his opinion now given the fact that nothing of significance has changed in the genre between then and now; the whole thing just reeks of sour grapes to me.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Wednesday music musings, 20.5.15”

  1. JP2 Says:

    stumbled across this from Rock in a Sea of Chaos….If you want to check them out up here in Seattle ( shock,I know) there are two great radio stations for real music….KBCS 91.3 Sunday mornings is “walkin’ the Floor (they stream this of course) and KEXP 90.3 Thursday evening Swinging Doors ( Honky and Tonk) Both are indie college stations with a lot of other fun stuff in the mix

Leave a Reply

