Wow, I didn’t even know he was sick.

…or, as one Redditor said, “Who’s next?’ was rhetorical. WE weren’t asking for another death.”

Glenn Frey, a rock ‘n’ roll rebel from Detroit who journeyed West, co-founded the Eagles and with Don Henley formed one of history’s most successful songwriting teams with such hits as “Hotel California” and “Life in the Fast Lane,” has died.

Frey, 67, died of complications from rheumatoid arthritis, acute ulcerative colitis and pneumonia, the band said on its website. He died Monday in New York. He had fought the ailments for the past several weeks, the band said.

The Eagles were probably the first classic rock band that I ever got into, thanks to my folks. Whenever I talk about the cultural pervasiveness of music and how that plays a part in the fact that so many of us like music that came out before we were born or when we were very young, the Eagles are one of the first bands that always come to mind. Now, if I never heard “Hotel California” again I wouldn’t mind it a bit, but the rest of their stuff was great.

As great a team of songwriters as Don Henley and Glenn Frey were, though, this right here has always been my favorite song they recorded.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Wow, I didn’t even know he was sick.”

  1. Jeff Bauer Says:

    I knew he was sick. I didn’t know he was that sick.

    From my website:

    Death knocks three times

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Very cool!

      I gotta admit, I liked pretty much all the stuff from the Eagles’ initial run up to 1980. The post-reunion stuff was pretty meh, IMO. Funny thing about that…I was all of two years old when they split up. There’s just something about that older music, no matter the genre…

Leave a Reply

