Thursday music musings, 3.11.16

So, about the CMAs last night…

Chris Stapleton winning Male Vocalist and Video and Luke Bryan getting completely shut out? Hey, I’ll take that. Like I have said before, I am not a Stapleton fan by any means, but as the old saying goes, any chair in a bar fight.

I also heard that both George Strait and Alan Jackson got full performance slots. Good for them. It sucks that they don’t get played on the radio anymore, but again, hey, little victories.

I gotta admit, I was quite surprised to see Garth Brooks take home Entertainer of the Year. A lot of people seemed to think it was Carrie Underwood’s time, and if I had to guess who would have taken it, I probably would have guessed she would be it. Not that I really give a damn one way or the other, really, but I thought it was pretty neat that Garth Brooks won just for another FU to Gary “if you’re not on country radio you don’t exist” Overton.

Finally, it was pretty cool that the Dixie Chicks got themselves a performance slot on the CMAs after a full 15-year absence from the show and more than a decade since their blackballing from country music — but then on the other hand I have to wonder if they’d have gotten that if they’d elected to sing one of their own hit songs (or a new song) as opposed to Beyonce’s “Daddy Lessons,” with Beyonce, even. I listened to the original version of the song, and I gotta say, I don’t get how people think it’s actually country. It sounds to me a lot more like, say, Dixieland jazz. Not that it’s bad, mind you. And I know the Chicks have done non-country covers before. Still, though, right or wrong, it reminded me of all the awkward pop star appearances on CMA award shows past, from Meghan Trainor last year to N-Sync with Alabama back in 1999. I thought about how Sammy Kershaw talked of how country music is seemingly the only genre that is ashamed of itself and how it tries to be everything but country. I thought about Dierks Bentley talking about how they weren’t all sitting on hay bales passing out the awards or whatever. And all of it is just another reminder that that attitude still seems to be there, and I have to wonder if it’ll ever subside to the point that mainstream country will ever sound, well, country again. Baby steps, I guess…

Tags:

One Response to “Thursday music musings, 3.11.16”

  1. JC Says:

    “Your honor, there ain’t but 12 notes”

Leave a Reply

