A few words on Chris Cornell…

Chris Cornell died, huh?

Well that sucks. I can’t lie and say I was always a fan, as I was more into country music than anything else in the ’90s, but once I started exploring other genres more I really took a liking to both Soundgarden and Audioslave. In fact, Soundgarden got to be one of the few ’90s rock bands I really liked. I once said that pretty much the only bands from the ’90s that I thought were worth a damn were the Offspring and Stone Temple Pilots, but you could definitely add Soundgarden to that short list.

And then there was this, from Cody Canada:

I feel like my childhood is dying.
Over the last couple of years the ones who taught me are leaving this place. I know this happens with every generation but I’m not ready.
I’m just not sure who our kids and our kids kids will listen to.
I was jolted back in time this morning looking at my crying boys.
Keith Whitley died when I was Willy’s age. I couldn’t stop crying because he moved me so much. My sweet parents let me stay home and play guitar that day.
Everyday the boys play Cornells voice in one form or another.
Doesn’t matter the bands name. It’s him man. It’s his demon. It’s his love. It’s his voice that we all gravitated towards.
The older I get the more I realize what’s important. Not the band name or the jaded ex member or the record label or what you wear. It’s the point of that one song in that right moment that made you cry or say I’m going to play music and change people’s day.
I’m going to carry on what this person spoke to me.
People have been trying to tell me how to do it and who they think I am for years now.
I know who I am and I know the people that made me believe in who I am and where I’m going. I catch myself telling my boys “no not like that” I’m wrong. Do it boys.
Don’t waste time listening to people tell you you’re not doing it right. How do they know?
I’ve been doing it since I was a child. Am I doing it right? Damn right I am. My way. Because that’s how they did it.
How you gonna stand out if you fit in.
Godspeed Mr. Cornell.
You paved a way for three generations of Canada’s. I hope you know what you did to music.

And you know, even if I didn’t like Soundgarden, I would at least respect them, for stuff like this. If there hadn’t been a Soundgarden, for all we know there wouldn’t have been a Cross Canadian Ragweed, and Red Dirt music would have been poorer for that.

And yes, that goes for all those other ’90s bands that I will freely admit to *not* liking.

I would say something about all those yahoos coming out of the woodwork crowing about the demise of “hair metal” at the hands of Cornell and his contemporaries…but, well, fuck them. They’re full of crap, they’ve always been full of crap, and they’ll always be full of crap.

Tags:

One Response to “A few words on Chris Cornell…”

  1. Jeff Bauer Says:

    Sad, sad day. Not out of character, I didn’t care much for the Soundgarden music that corporate rock was overplaying the shit out of on the FM dial, but I loved the things that didn’t get airplay.

    Fave? Superunknown, the song. Absolute best. Received regular air time as a full cut and the intro for bumper music on my long since abandoned radio program Off Frequency.

    Rest in peace, Chris Cornell. Thank you for the nearly four octaves of inspiration.

Leave a Reply

