I think Blake Shelton’s the jackass…

here:

If I am “Male Vocalist of the Year” that must mean that I’m one of those people now that gets to decide if it moves forward and if it moves on. Country music has to evolve in order to survive. Nobody wants to listen to their grandpa’s music. And I don’t care how many of these old farts around Nashville going, “My God, that ain’t country!” Well that’s because you don’t buy records anymore, jackass. The kids do, and they don’t want to buy the music you were buying.

We’ll just leave alone that cute little misconception that those figurative circle jerks (aka awards) mean anything significant…

Here Blake Shelton goes, putting forth the blatantly false idea that real country music fans don’t want the genre to evolve. I don’t know about you, but the main complaint I have with modern Nashville music — yes, I refuse to call it country, and if that pusbag Shelton has a problem with that he can come on down to San Antonio and tell me to my face…where was I?

Oh yeah. The problem with modern Nashville music is that it’s not really an evolution of country as it is a mutation and bastardization of it, with no connection to the genre whatsoever. And you can take Eric Church as a perfect example of this, with his talk about the rock and metal bands he and his contemporaries listened to as they grew up, with nary a word about Waylon, Willie, George, or Merle. On the other hand, anyone who knows country music knows that folks like Willie and Merle, along with later singers like Alan Jackson and George Strait, had always been country music fans. (In fact, Merle Haggard recorded tributes to not one but two country music icons — Jimmie Rodgers and Bob Wills.) But do you hear any of George Strait’s influence in the music of people like Jason Aldean or Hunter Hayes? No, of course you don’t.

And it’s really odd,  because I can’t think of any other genre that’s evolved through the years to the point that a sizable number of its audience would say “that’s not (insert genre here).” Let’s just take metal, as a f’rinstance. I know (online) a fair number of metal fans, and they’ve been metal fans going all the way back to Black Sabbath. I have yet to hear them deriding any modern metal band as not being true to the genre. And there’s a good reason for that — you take, for example, Iron Maiden’s 1984 album Powerslave and put it up next to Symphony X’s 2011 album Iconoclast, and even with their differences, if you know metal, you’d walk away thinking of both those albums, “Hey, now that’s metal.”

(And even though I can’t stand what Arch Enemy did with Maiden’s “Aces High” and Queensryche’s “Walk in the Shadows,” it’s still pretty hard to argue that even that is not metal.)

On the other hand — let’s just give modern country an unfair advantage, take Rascal Flatts’ eponymous debut album from 13 years ago, and compare it to George Strait’s 1984 album Does Fort Worth Ever Cross Your Mind.

The George Strait record? “Whoa, that’s country, hoss.”

Rascal Flatts? “So that’s what they’re calling country these days…”

Then there’s the cultural pervasiveness of pretty much any genre of music you care to name. People listen to music as they grow up, they pass that music on to their kids, the cycle starts over with those kids and their own music, and so it goes through the culture as the years go on. (I mean, I know I’m not the only mid-30s guy out there who listens to and likes Alice Cooper and Waylon Jennings.) Given that phenomenon, the statement about the kids not wanting to buy old music strikes me as rather ignorant.

In other words, it’s exactly what we should expect from the likes of Mr. Shelton.

Tags:

10 Responses to “I think Blake Shelton’s the jackass…”

  1. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    Your music is too new. You didn’t even know Tennessee Ernie Ford did “Tennessee Stud.” 😉

    But yeah, Blake Shelton is a clueless ass. The closest he gets to actual country music is standing next to his wife, and you know how I feel about Miranda Lambert.

  2. mattexian Says:

    I can stand most of the Nashville Pop (as I call it, when the only thing differentiating it from Rock/Pop is more twangy guitars), but I find myself hitting the preset button on the radio to listen to the Classic Country from Houston, being the closest. Heck, today I came home with Alabama’s “16 Biggest Hits” CD, since it seems like the local stations barely bother with anything from them more than once a day.

  3. Skeeter73 Says:

    I am sitting here downloading Flatts & Scruggs and couldn’t agree more. I enjoy Good Red Dirt Country that is coming out, but nothing from Nashville.

  4. Albatross Says:

    Besides, who buys “records” anymore? Certainly not the “kids”, whoever they are.

  5. Albatross Says:

    P.S.: My thoughts on Stalingrad are up. In short: Pretty damn good for a bunch of “old farts”.

  6. Jeff Says:

    He’s just another corporate assembly line artist. Designed to make money quick, as soon as he doesn’t make his numbers you will never hear from him again. Same thing with Justin Bieber it’s coming.

  7. AeroDillo Says:

    Hell, I listen to my grandpa’s music. And some that was old news before he was born. Perhaps my problems with sonic enlightenment stem from the fact that I do not listen to Blake Shelton.

    And Rascal Flatts have been polluting my radio for thirteen years already? God, I feel old.

  8. mattexian Says:

    I remembered that I *do* listen to my grandma’s music, as she put her old Bob Wills albums on the record player when I’d visit (God bless her soul), and I’ve got Asleep at the Wheel’s tribute CD.

  9. Jimmy Milner Says:

    You refuse to call it “country” but calling it “music” is a stretch as well…

  10. southtexaspistolero Says:

    God, I feel old.

    You are definitely not the only one…

    You refuse to call it “country” but calling it “music” is a stretch as well…

    This is true, my friend!

Leave a comment